NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

AN ORDER OF THE BOARD

NO. A.I. 78(2024)

1	IN THE MATTER OF the Automobile
2	Insurance Act, RSNL 1990, c. A-22,
3	as amended and regulations thereunder;
4	and
5	
6	IN THE MATTER OF an application by
7	Chubb Insurance Company of Canada for
8	approval to implement a revised rating
9	program for its Interurban Trucks
10	category of automobile insurance.
11	
12	
13	WHEREAS on November 22, 2024 Chubb Insurance Company of Canada ("Chubb") applied to the
14	Board for approval of a revised rating program under the IAO filing option for its Interurbar
15	Trucks category of automobile insurance; and
16	
17	WHEREAS the IAO filing option may be used by insurers to adopt the most recent IAO rating
18	program accepted for use by the Board; and
19	
20	WHEREAS Chubb proposed to adopt the IAO rating program for Interurban Trucks accepted for
21	use by the Board in information bulletin A.I. 2024-04; and
22	
23	WHEREAS Chubb has no Interurban Trucks exposures and thus does not have sufficient volume
24	to justify a rating program based on company specific data; and
25	
26	WHEREAS the proposed rating program results in an overall rate level change of +13.8%; and
27	
28	WHEREAS the revised rating program is filed in accordance with the IAO Filing Guidelines; and
29	
30	WHEREAS the Board is satisfied that the proposed rates are just and reasonable in the
31	circumstances, do not impair the solvency of the insurer, are not excessive in relation to the
32	financial circumstances of the insurer, and do not violate the Automobile Insurance Act or the
33	Insurance Companies Act or the respective regulations thereunder.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:

1

2

1. The revised rating program received November 22, 2024 from Chubb Insurance Company of Canada for its Interurban Trucks category of automobile insurance is approved to be effective no sooner than March 1, 2025 for new business and renewals.

DATED at St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, this 16 day of December, 2024.

John O'Brien, FCPA, FCA, CISA

Commissioner

Christopher Pike, LL.B., FCIP

Commissioner

Jo-Anne Galarneau Board Secretary